Glimpses

today I caught a glimpse of why I first loved, why I first cared

I caught a glimpse of someone’s life without you and I got scared

a life devoid of pleasure and of trust

for a moment today I remember why I first dared

 

today I put my reputation on the line and stood

today I reminded someone of the greatest good

I shared my faith and bid him trust, left him vulnerable

For a moment today someone understood

Why it is I sacrifice or try each day at least

To speak of you and hear of you and tame that savage beast

The self in me ferocious and mean just wanting to be free

Conceited, self-centered poisonous,

the worst part of me

 

I’m not perfect that much is true

I have my little ticks

And I don’t understand an all-knowing God who observes and knowingly picks

Frail creatures, weak and slightly stupid, selfish, crazy and wrong

To do His bidding, tell His love and prove that He exists

 

Why would He choose unworthy beings to represent His grace?

Why stood I before a man in an angel’s place?

 

today I caught a glimpse of why first loved, why I first cared

and hopefully today someone’s life is now free, they walk unsnared

7 thoughts on “Glimpses

Leave a Reply

